EU countries

EU countries/non-EU countries

Non-EU countries

Non-EU countries are all countries that are not a member state of the European Union.

EU countries

Countries which are member states of the European Union are called EU countries or EU member states.

The EU countries are:

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Czech Republic
  • Sweden

All other countries are considered by Customs to be a non-EU country. The areas listed below are also considered by Customs to be a non-EU country.

Exceptional areas within the EU countries

Certain areas which are part of the EU customs territory, exceptional areas, are subject to special rules. These areas are:

  • Aland Islands (Finland)
  • Canary Islands (Spain)
  • French over seas departments and territories, including Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique and Reunion
  • Mount Athos (Greece)

These areas are subject to special rules concerning excise duty and turnover tax (VAT). Are you entering an EU-country from an exceptional area? Then an exemption of duties applicable to goods entering from a non-EU country is applicable to the goods you are bringing in.

Would you like more detailed information on the EU countries and Customs policy, excise territory, VAT territory and exceptional areas?  Please read the article 'Overzicht EU-landen' (Overview EU-countries - only available in Dutch).

Javascript is disabled in this web browser. You must activate Javascript in order to view this website.