EU countries / non-EU countries

EU countries

EU countries or EU member states are the countries that are members of the European Union. (To: Non-EU countries)

The EU countries are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • The Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

All other countries are considered by Customs to be a non-EU country. The areas listed below are also considered by Customs to be a non-EU country.

Exceptional areas within the EU countries

Certain areas which are part of the EU customs territory, exceptional areas, are subject to special rules. These areas are:

  • Aland Islands (Finland)
  • Canary Islands (Spain)
  • French overseas departments and territories, including Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Mayotte and Reunion
  • Mount Athos (Greece)

These areas are subject to special rules concerning excise duty and value added tax (VAT). Are goods entering the EU from one of these countries or territories? Then the goods are subject to the same tax rules that would apply if they came from a non-EU country.

Detailed information about the EU-countries and Customs policy, excise territory, VAT territory and exceptional areas can be found in the section: EU-countries overview (only available in Dutch) or Customs Information Line.

Non-EU countries

Non-EU countries are all countries that are not a member of the European Union.

Javascript is disabled in this web browser. You must activate Javascript in order to view this website.